Forum home Garden design

Advice on sun/shade

Hello,

We currently have a beautiful big south facing garden which is not overlooked and gets full on sun from mid morning till night. We are considering moving to a new build house which has a more northerly facing garden and I am concerned that we would get no sun! I am new to gardening and so have very little idea about these things yet - trying to learn. Could you offer advice on the sun/shade in the garden in the possible new build plot? I have marked the property with a black dot. Your wisdom is very much appreciated. P.S we are in Scotland, just north of Dundee. Thanks in advance. 

• K67K67 Leicestershire Posts: 2,507
    Don't think you will get a lot but your plot will be very overlooked and the houses behind might well be planting for privacy which might affect you.
    Its always hard to tell but in mid summer you will but over winter it does depend on whether the sun will get above the house roof.
    There are apps you can download which will track the sun in a given spot.
  • K67 said:
    Don't think you will get a lot but your plot will be very overlooked and the houses behind might well be planting for privacy which might affect you.
    Its always hard to tell but in mid summer you will but over winter it does depend on whether the sun will get above the house roof.
    There are apps you can download which will track the sun in a given spot.
    Thanks so much for taking the time to reply! And so quickly too. Yes, that was my fear. I will have a go at downloading a tracker app.
  • Nanny BeachNanny Beach Posts: 8,294
    can I ask why you are moving from your lovelly big south facing garden.  Your question, my garden faces north but because of the size I get sun from dawn, till 6.30 somewhere in the summer. But it is a detached bungalow not overlooked or overshadowed