Forum home The potting shed

Horticultural auctions

delskidelski Posts: 111
edited 23 February in The potting shed
Anyone have experience with buying plants from horticultural auctions and whether or not it's worth it? Looking for a bargain, maybe out of season nursery stock. Am I likely to get too many of the same plant?
Been watching Real Gardens (1998-2000) with Monty Don and it was mentioned in one of the episodes.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 26,580
    I've never heard of such a thing
    Devon.
  • LG_LG_ gardens in SE LondonPosts: 2,953
    I have no experience, but I've read several references in Monty Don's books. I think he used them when he was first transforming Longmeadow from a field to a garden, perhaps since as well, but you're talking about big quantities and not always getting exactly what you want. I can't give specific examples but I think he bought all the hedge plants in one go (so in the hundreds) and maybe ended up with a different type of lime tree from what he was after. If I've remembered that right you'll need a lot of space to accommodate 'mistakes'.
    'If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.'
    - Cicero
  • delskidelski Posts: 111
    Found a couple from searching internet.
    Monty was helping a couple of police officers from Devon (I think) and the guy mentioned he'd got a bunch of plants from a horticultural auction.
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,983
    Monty was helping a couple of police officers from Devon (I think) and the guy mentioned he'd got a bunch of plants from a horticultural auction.

They fell off the back of a lorry.😁
    Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
    :D Makes sense, they've got those "police" auctions! Profiteering from criminal activity.
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Central Norfolk UKPosts: 66,238