Forum home Garden design

Advice on building an L shaped raised bed with sleepers against a fence

edited February 2021 in Garden design
Hi all, complete DIY novice here so apologies for the ignorant questions! We have done some research online but are a bit overwhelmed with the options, and don't want to end up with something collapsing. 

- The shape will be as below. Sleepers preferably laid on their narrower edge to maximise width of the bed. We could go fully flat if we had to but would lose some width, spend more on timber. 

- Where we are confused is what strengthening we need to use. Can we get away with only using wood screws from the sleepers above to those below, in combination with 'brick style' right angle fits at the corners? The height will be approx 70cm, we believe around 2000L soil. 

- Alternatively, do we need to be adding brackets, dowling, rebar, or cemented poles to strengthen the wall at this height? 

• K67K67 Posts: 2,507
    edited February 2021

Sorry posted this with 9nly your photo appearing and no words!

not  sure what advice you want but it looks good. Although I would make the depth 1.2 as it's half a sleeper. I see you have concrete gravel boards are they yours? If so you could get away with no backs to the beds but if not and the fence owners decide to replace the fence you will loose your soil support.
    I see you have a spiders web fatsia japonica, will repeat what many of us have said this will grow to 6ft + both up and sideways and back to front so plant in the corner. They can be pruned if it survives, I've never been able to keep one, only the usual all green variety.
  • BenCottoBenCotto Posts: 4,579
    When I recently extended a raised bed I used brackets from this company and thought they were excellent.

https://www.indooroutdoors.co.uk/pages/sleeperfix-railway-sleeper-brackets
    Rutland, England
  • BenCotto said: