Forum home Problem solving

Last Frost dates Cornwall

Hi,
I'm still quite new to gardening. I'm getting extremely confused about last frost dates! According to a website mine is last week of march but this seems early compared to things I've read. Does anyone from Cornwall have a rough idea? Many thanks 

• BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 2,181
    It depends on lots of variables, not least being whereabouts in Cornwall you are as this map shows

https://www.plantmaps.com/interactive-united-kingdom-last-frost-date-map.php

A further difficulty is the map shows average last frost dates so there is a 1 in 2 chance there’ll be a frost after the date shown. Also you might want to distinguish between ground frost and air frost as well as considering what you’re growing. Frost susceptible plants don’t necessarily turn their roots up the moment the temperature touches 0° C. I have petunias in the garden right now coping admirably with several nights of temperatures well below freezing.

Then you have to give thought to where you are growing these sensitive plants. There’ll be pockets of your garden much more sheltered from frost than others.

If I were you I would check several of these ‘last frost’ websites and try to get a consensus date. About then look at the weather forecast and if it looks encouraging then get sowing but with a fleece at hand to cosset your seedlings if the weather looks unfavourable. Even if you have to wait two or three weeks till after the date you could actually have planted in any given year, the gap between the date of flowering or harvesting will have shrunk to just a few days from the original 14-21. Practise patience.