Forum home Plants

Fence Screen

Just completed building a T&G (solid) fence the length of my driveway. It’s 22m long and varies in height from 1.3m at the entrance to 2m at the garage. It runs N-S and my side of the fence is west facing so gets sun most of the day. It’s a very nice fence but looks rather stark and imposing so would like to have climbing plants the full length. The soil is clay but don’t mind replacing it. Was planning to install horizontal stainless steel wires every 40cm but realised I have no idea what I’m doing, either with the mesh or choosing and growing plants. Any suggestions for a complete novice? Essentially I would like a riot of colour all year round but no idea what I’m doing.

• ObelixxObelixx Posts: 30,018
    Nothing wrong with clay soil especially if you can open it up by incorporating lots of organic matter from well-rooted manure and/or garden compost.  The more the better and good soil prep before planting will pay dividends.

In that aspect you can grow rambling roses, climbing roses, clematis at the taller end of the fence but I would go for lower shrub roses and other shrubs or perennials along the lower part.  I would also put the horizontal wires at 30cm intervals using special vine eyes (screws with a loop end) from a good DIY store and soem tensioners at the ends to keep them taught.

Do you have any particular colour preferences and whereabouts are you?  Exposure to temperature changes, winds and rain will affect what will be happy.
    Vendée - 20kms from Atlantic coast.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • Thanks for quick response. Apologies, meant to say I’m in Edinburgh so when I say we get sun all day, it’s only when it shines, which is not often. No particular preference re colour, but would like a variety rather than just the one. Not sure if you can grow different plant types right next to each other so they almost merge together.