Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Hi everyone, newbie plant owner struggling

Hey everyone! 

Just signed up to see if I can get some help please? 

I bought my first ever indoor plants 8 months ago for my office, in the couple of months they all started getting brown tips. 

I used to water here and there so to say, I was advised to only water when the soil was damp a couple of inches under the surface. 

Last week, I trimmed the burnts tips off etc, and I actually repotted the two tree style plants, and did not water as the soil was damp. 

I am thinking they where overwatered originally but tbh have no clue as I'm new to this! 

The 1st and 2nd pictures are of the other plants that haven't gone down hill again. 

The 3rd of the smaller trees roots. 

The 4th picture was post trim. 

The 5th one in the smaller pot was beforre the trim. (I put them in a new potting soil, and in a bigger pot, however the roots on the smaller tree where tiny. 

And the last two pictures are a week after I trimmed the dead bits of leaves. 

I did not water them in the soil when repotting as out the pack it was a little damp any i thought maybe they where overwatered already. 

(I'm wondering if because the trees where watered and there roots where a lot lower (8 inches below where I was checking it turn out) that the soil might have still been wet down there. 

I have also attached a picture of the roots when it was being re potted. And two other plants that I trimmed too (incase it helps the diagnoses). The two other plants haven't gone down hill at all. 

Thank you so much in advance for any help you can provide!

Thanks again if yoy can advise, I really don't want to keep harming these plants through lack of knowledge. 

• AnniDAnniD Posts: 12,572
    Welcome to the forum  :)