Forum home Garden design

My small garden needs colour!

Hi all,
My garden is so dull and this is the year to get it into shape! I'm stuck with the previous owner's hardscaping which means I don't have much planting space (or money for that matter!) but I want to add some colour and all year round interest. Underneath the topsoil it's clay (I'm new to this type of soil.) Plants need to be cat friendly (he eats things he shouldn't) and grandchildren friendly (one of them is allergic to bee/wasp stings.)
My ideas so far:
As you can see from the picture I have a nice small 'tree' and I would like the plants to be in scale to this so under 40cm (as indicated by the green line.) Where I've put no:1 I would like an evergreen, similar form and size to the rosemary (I'm hoping this will give balance?) Then where I've put no:2 I'm thinking a D.I.Y. solar fountain standing proud above the height of the flowers. I'm going to move the lavenders as they obscure the view of other plants.
I'd love to hear your ideas.
Also any advice on getting the green off the fence and cleaning dirty, uncared for Indian sandstone gratefully received!

• delskidelski Posts: 274
    edited February 2021
    Welcome to the forum.
    Green fence - you can get some leave-on sprays that will remove (the colour) of the algae. It will come back after a couple of years though. My fence needs re-spraying with algae stuff and then re-painting. Wilko will sort me out for that.
    Sandstone - pressure washer will clean that up beautifully.
    I also like that tree you have - but if you lifted the canopy you could fit a greater variety of plants. It might even be a shrub that lends itself to cloud pruning. Could it be euonymus? Hard to see from the pic.
  • JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 7,677