Forum home Plants

Potting bare root roses

SophieKSophieK Posts: 244
Hello,

I am new to roses (among many others). I have ordered 3 bare root roses from David Austin (Desdemona, Tuscan Superb, and Scepter' d Isle), which should be delivered at the end of the month. I am humming and ahhing about planting them in the ground or in pots - if the latter what size (width and depth) would you recommend?

Thank you for your advice.

• K67K67 Posts: 2,507
    https://www.davidaustinroses.co.uk/blogs/news/how-to-plant-a-rose-in-a-pot

I assume the roses you have chosen are suitable for pots. I do prefer to plant in the soil as they need less watering but then I'm lazy!
  • NollieNollie Posts: 7,511
    Tuscany superb is one really not suited to a pot, apart from to grow it on for a couple of years perhaps, before planting it out in the garden, but better to plant it in the ground straightaway and give it plenty of space - if happy, it can get quite large! It’s a Gallica, an old heritage variety (not actually a DA rose, just sold by them). You don’t prune it much, not how you would your other two, as it’s a once-blooming type, not a repeat flowerer. Just a light tidy up prune after flowering has finished at the end of the summer.

For permanent life in a pot, go as large as you can find/afford, minimum 50cmx50cm, but you can start them off in much smaller pots until you decide what to do. Bear in mind that in a pot, you need a weighty soil/potting mix, not just ordinary compost. Plus you need to feed and water much more regularly. Unless you have no other option or want them in pots to frame a doorway etc., if you can plant them in the ground it’s easier, as K67 says. Lots of us on the New Rose Season thread have roses in pots tho, so do feel free to pop in there and ask advice anytime and to share photos of your new roses 😊 
    Mountainous Northern Catalunya, Spain. Hot summers, cold winters.
  • SophieKSophieK Posts: 244