Forum home Garden design

New build & new to gardening - I've had a go, but any help and advice welcome!

Hi everyone! I’ve spent a long time trawling the forums for ideas (as well as gardening books and Pinterest) and thought it’d be good to get some ideas from more experienced humans! I’ve really tried to give lots of information and my own ideas, but I really have no experience in gardening, so any help is much appreciated, and I’ll update you when we get some bits done this year (hopefully!)

I’ve got a new build garden in Leicestershire, but we’ve been in for 5 years now, so I feel it’s time to start adding some plants – I’ve never done any gardening before and finding it quite daunting, it’s taken 5 years to put in some trees and a patio, and I just got myself a little trug to play with in lockdown. The garden’s north-west facing, but does get very sunny in the summer as we have the neighbours’ gardens either side and nothing blocks the sun other than the left hand side fence. Where the trug is at the moment gets sun most of the day.

The pictures are from a mix of different years, but just to show the light the garden gets.

July – 6pm

September – 4pm

August 6pm

We’ve done the “hard landscaping” ourselves, put a patio at the back and also put some pleached liquidambar in to distract from a neighbour’s drive, garage, trampoline, and large motorhome that gets parked there for quite a while. We extended the patio outside the patio doors and have put in a pergola that has an optional canopy, and we’ve got a long narrow shed down the side of the house, so don’t need any more storage. We added the patio at the back as this gets a bit of shade, and felt like it would mean we weren’t looking out onto other houses.

View from the patio at the back

The garden isn’t square (this is my to-scale model, the white tree isn’t there, nor is the hydrangea) and I think this is confusing me about what to do with borders. 

Current pictures (this morning – January 9am):