Forum home Plants

Quick growing tree or shrub suggestions

Hi,

Just registered on here. I'm completely new to gardening, so if I ask anything stupid please forgive me!

I bought my first house early last year, and spent the last year sorting out the house. I now want to start on the garden.

First thing I want to do is get some privacy from my irritating neighbours. As their garden is slightly higher than mine they can see right over the fence and into my kitchen. I'm sick of him watching me make my dinner!

So basically I want a tree or shrub that I can plant up against the fence. The basic requirements are for it to be a fast grower, but won't exceed 2.5m to 3m in height when fully grown. Also it will be about 10ft from the house so nothing where the roots will affect foundations. Something pretty would be an added bonus

Anyone have any suggestions? 

• ObelixxObelixx Posts: 30,019
    There is a basic rule of shrubs and trees - anything that grows fast will not stop at the height you want but carry on growing far too big and become a liability or just a pain.

You would be better off considering a structure such as trellis or a pergola which can be attractive in its own right but also support a climber which will give you added interest, colour, perfume, form.
    Vendée - 20kms from Atlantic coast.
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • LoxleyLoxley Posts: 5,690
    edited January 2021
    A large shrub like Cotinus coggyria (smoke bush) would possibly be better if you want it to stop at 2.5-3m.

Remember the closer the shrub/tree is to your window, the smaller it needs to be. If you have a patio outside your window, you could put a topiary lolipop in a tub exactly where you want it to obstruct the view of you peeling your spuds.

Have you considered raising the fence a bit (if you own it) or putting trellis on top?
    "What is hateful to you, do not do to your neighbour".