Forum home Plants

Cutting back privet

103daz103daz Posts: 3
Hi.
We are due to complete on our house on Friday & we have a back & front Jungle (sorry meant gardens) The house has been empty for almost 2 years & we plan on concentrating on the inside First, & just a basic tidy, pull out weeds to make a clearing to the doors etc. However.
On our final visit before completion we met the neighbour (Who seems really nice) but she asked if the first thing we could do was cut back the hedge as it looks horrendous & it is actually completely covering the kitchen window anyway. Trouble is, I'm no proper gardener (& correct me if I'm wrong) but I'm sure that this time of year is wrong for doing this & don't want to end up with a dead hedge instead.
So can I cut it back? How far? & if I do is there a chance I will kill it? Or should I leave it until later in the year & just risk cutting back enough to let light in through the kitchen window?

Thankyou in advance for any help/advice
Darren 

• WilderbeastWilderbeast Posts: 1,415
    I'd be quite cautious about cutting any hedge back at this time of year, privet isn't the most hardy of hedges. I'd only cut back where you really need to do so at this time of year and especially while it's very cold. 
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 87,867
    Good luck with your new home ... good neighbours are worth their weight in gold ... tell your neighbour you're taking advice and reassure her that you will cut the hedge back  just as soon as the cold weather is over and promise to and maintain it properly after that ... hopefully that will be the foundation of a long time of good neighbourly relations.   :)

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• JennyJJennyJ Posts: 10,426