Forum home Problem solving

Garlic planting in pots

As I’ve mentioned I’m a novice on the gardening front, all help is appreciated, I am planting new apple and pear trees soon but due to hand injury I can’t dig. So in the meantime decided to plant garlic in containers, I’ve ordered the bulbs. Looking into the soil aspects, I’m confused.com, research shows, some say use compost, some say potting soil with compost, some say potting mix. So I’m confused on the soil front, also the use of slow release fertilisers, others say bone meal. Of course some folks will have their favourite methods. I’m seeking a tried and test method to increase my chances of having some garlic late summer. I will cover the new planting to protect from frost but should be ok living in London, we don’t get deep frost. Appreciate any help from garlic growers, thank you in anticipation 

• Allotment BoyAllotment Boy North London Posts: 4,543
    I have never grown garlic fully in pots, I often start it off that way to get the roots going well but always plant out within a few weeks. I would think a soil based compost or a 50:50 mix of soil based with MPC.  Remember garlic needs a period of cold to initiate bulb formation so don't over protect them, they are quite tough.  Hope this helps a bit.
    AB Still learning

• thank you, that’s useful indeed. I’m going to mix top soil and compost 50-50 and add some granular feed. In terms of protection I’m more concerned about squirrels, I have about 5 who visit the garden daily, great but makes a mess of anything I plant, it’s a real pain. So will add some straw on top of the pots hope that will help protect the bulbs I hope. Thank you for your help 
  • StephenSouthwestStephenSouthwest Southwest EnglandPosts: 298
    I wouldn't use straw - it won't slow down the squirrels, and garlic don't need protection from cold. Wire mesh would be best, if you have anything like that...
  • NewBoy2NewBoy2 BristolPosts: 1,804
    Dont use pots