Forum home Plants

Pruning my espalier apple trees.

Good evening,
I’m new to the pruning of trees etc and the whole business seems quite complicated so I’m after some advice.

This pic is from the RHS Encyclopaedia of Gardening and shows where my apple trees were in summer 2019. Now they have 2 established tiers which gave some fruit this summer. On one of the trees the fruit was small, on the other it was of a decent size. 
I would like to produce a third tier. Should I do this this year or wait? If I don’t prune for a new tier this year, do I prune the top of the leader or not?
Also, is the practice to prune back the laterals of the tiers by a third every year? They seem to have grown fine but I do want them to grow longer.
Lastly, I didn’t cut back any of the sub laterals over 9” to 3 or 4 leaves in the summer. Should I do that now? And then next summer, cut back to one leaf?
thank you for any advice you can give.
Joe

• Hi Joe, I’m doing the same but a year ahead. Will be cutting to start the fourth and final tier.

This photo in August just after summer pruning. I won’t winter prune until Valentine’s Day. The bottom tier has reached desired size so I won’t touch that. Second tier will have this seasons main branch growth just pruned a bit to a downward facing bud. Apart from the side on the left, which has suffered from aphids this year, gone all stunted and misshapen so I’ll cut all of that bit off back to healthy stem - downward facing bud again.

Third tier I’ll also reduce by a third because it didn’t grow very strongly. I noticed the tree did a lot of stopping and starting this year. So it looks like there’s multiple seasons growth but it’s actually only one year! Started growing, then stopped, and regrew from new buds. Probably due to stress from the aphids which really were awful this year.