Forum home Problem solving

How to start seeds off early in late winter

Hi

i am a novice and love growing from seed but I am also impatient hehe

Last year I bought lots of plugs in March of petunias etc.

it got me thinking how can they grow them so successfully so soon. I have a greenhouse and I was about 2 months behind the plugs.

This idea might sound crazy but could I buy a “grow tent” similar to what the kind of people we wouldn’t want to talk about use?

you can get a full kit for about £100 tent, light etc. Could I do that inside in say late January to get seeds started and then  put them in the greenhouse until spring for planting out after last frost?

I want to maximise seeds and put on a huge show this year for just the price of seeds fertiliser and compost.

if I did that I could cheat to get there quicker?

I’ll ask for a kit for Christmas if you agree is a good idea?

thank you!

• AstroAstro Posts: 340
    I use grow lights and for me they can give a good headstart. It feels a bit like being able to cheat nature and having more control.
  • HeliosHelios Posts: 146
    For me, they save that shuffling back and forth between greenhouse and conservatory trying to make sure the seedlings have enough light. 
    Don’t know about asking Santa to bring you the full kit though, I use mine in conjunction with a large propagator.
  • ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 26,689
    Seedlings need good light to grow strong and sturdy without becoming etiolated and weak.   No point keeping them warm if they have insufficient light and seeds sown later, in March, around the equinox, catch up fast anyway.   Petunias and so on are cheap enough  and easy to find so I would concentrate on getting ahead with more unusual flwoering plants and chillies and tomatoes where an early start really helps them do well and variety has far more importance regarding size, flavour etc.