Forum home Garden design

Hannah Hadfield

We’ve just moved to a new build and have a completely blank canvas garden. We are going to have raised beds put in against a back wall and fence. Are we better to have the beds dug in or free standing? We’re trying to get into gardening but are complete novices at the moment so any advice. 
We want to plant a mixture of plants/trees/herbs and bulbs. 
Any recommendations? 

• B3B3 Posts: 15,047
    I would have it dug in and then you wouldn't have your choice of plants limited to those with shallow roots. Drainage and watering would probably be less of a problem too.
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 9,782
    I agree.  Unless you are trying to keep something in there from spreading out (eg bamboo, fig) or something below from growing up into the bed (eg tree roots, bamboo) then open bottom raised beds are the way to go.
    A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • JennyJJennyJ DoncasterPosts: 2,682
    And don't forget that raised beds will need backs to keep the soil from touching the fence.
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 35,156
    They need lined too [ if they're timber ] to prevent rot and to avoid too much moisture loss.
    There are lots of threads on this subject, so it's worth doing a search, using the facility at the top of the page.
    If they're going to be of a decent size, it's worth doing them properly - good materials, and posts concreted in if using timber. Properly constructed if using brick or block. 

For plant suggestions, that's a big subject, and more info would be needed. Aspect, rough location, climate, likes and dislikes, time to maintain etc.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 1,872