Forum home Plants

Questions about the use of a polytunnel

ph1109ph1109 Posts: 32
Hi
My friend passed away.  :'(
I was given and have accepted the use of her polycrub (which is a strong solid version of a polytunnel) She spent lots of time there, it was very important to her.

However it is about 4 miles away from where I live. Aso I am not experienced and will need to start from scratch. I have just started with seeds and plants myself this year and I am definitely interested and keen to learn. I have time but not as much as she had. I could spend some hours each day in it during summer but not much more.

It would not be a problem to remove and replace the plants in it if necessary,  as long as I can keep something going on there and stay on top of it.

Inside she has a peer trea, 2 apple trees Kathy and James Grieve, LOTS of varieties of perpetual strawberries, 1 raspberry, LOTS of varieties of tomatoes, marigolds, carnations, and some leeks and onions - that is all that I can remember now. Outside she has veg patches which I can use if necessary and I have a plan with her veg rotation of the last years.
There is also a large flower garden.

So I was wondering what your thoughts are.
Is it possible to have a crub (polytunnel) that far away from where you live?
Is it enough to go there once a day in summer and not necessarily twice (for opening and closing its windows, controling air and temperature).
Will I need to get rid of some of the plants she has there now and which ones would that be, which ones are difficult and fussy and needs lots of attention?
What would be the easier plants, which ones are less fussy about temperature and ventilation  control and are easy for a beginner?

I have a book that tells you what to do each month but it doesn't speak about the amount of time/work or the level of difficulty.

Thanks.

• ButtercupdaysButtercupdays Posts: 4,002
    edited October 2020