Forum home Plants

salvia advice

REMF33REMF33 Posts: 212
In a fit of greed, I quite a few several salvia plants from Hayloft a while back. (£1 each, Hard to resist when you have a thing for salvias...) They arrived as tiny (1 inch?) plugs. Some are now in the garden, some I gave to my elderly mother, but the rest,  I had thought  to over winter as small plants (some are half hardy, others are supposed to be fully hardy) until I am sure about where I want them to go. But, they have grown rather well. They are now about 29 inches high (from the foot of the pot) and too tall for the cold frame. They are in 7 inch pots and not root bound, I would say, although the roots are beginning to go round the inside of the pot.
Should I chop them back hard and put them in a cold frame when it gets cooler? (They are still flowering at the moment.) Or pot them on and put fleece over them? (Or just pot them on and hope for the best.)
Sorry... I am quite new to flowers...

• FireFire LondonPosts: 7,152
    I don't think the salvias are likely to put on a lot more root between now and spring. I wouldn't chop them. They seem like decent sized plants. The half-hardy ones I would bring inside if you can. Or fleece them as we get nearer to frost. The hardy ones should be fine if they are good sized plants. Keep a weather eye on the forecast. If night temps dip much past freezing - take extra steps to make sure the plants survive. If you do pot on the salvias and keep them outside, make sure to use a good whack of grit so that the plants aren't sitting in water. They are as likely to suffer from water-logging as cold. Prop the pots of chocs to allow for full drainage; move them to a sheltered, sunny spot for the winter. 
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 35,050
    There are different types, and some are tougher than others, so be guided by that, and also by where they originate, and that climate.