Forum home Tools and techniques

Enviromesh fleece vs butterfly proof netting

I used butterfly proof netting (or so it was advertised) over my brassicas this year but the small cabbage whites simply breathed in and got to the leaves with impunity. I’ll look for smaller mesh next time if the advice is that it really works.

Or I’ll switch to enviromesh though I am not keen on the intrusion of such a slab of white. Does anyone know if there is black enviromesh? Also, is enviromesh strong enough to be sewn to create a bespoke cover? Or could it be taped and, if so, is there a durable weather proof tape that is up to the job? I know I am ridiculously precious but I don’t like the gathered bunches of fabric at the two ends of the frame.

Thank you for any observations.

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 11,058
    Hi Ben, I've been using this for a few years with great success.  I like that you can get it 6m wide, any length:
    7mm hole size is the maximum which will keep butterflies out, and only if there are no gaps at all and the mesh is kept more than an inch away from any leaves.
    A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • KassiKassi Posts: 14
    Butterfly netting only works as long as no plant material is touching the netting from the inside (something I have learnt from experience!) So worth making sure its taller and wider than you need it to be. Enviromesh is better, but also a lot more expensive. 
    If you're not doing it for looks charity shops often have a lot of net curtains you can sew together to make massive cages that work really well. Though a little lacey....
  • SkylarksSkylarks East MidlandsPosts: 379
    edited September 2020