Forum home Problem solving

I am a GCSE Product Design student designing a snail trap.

For my research i need a target market (gardeners) and knowledge of what they could want or need in their garden. All i ask for is to learn about what features you look for if planning to buy a snail/slug trap. If it is above ground or below ground? If it is green to make it blend into the surroundings or bright so you can easily find it? If it kills the pests or just traps them for you to throw them away? Thank you for any feedback, it is much appreciated. And i hope to post here again soon to see if my designs would be in the interests of fellow gardeners.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 35,520
    Most 'slug traps' are at just below ground level, as they're usually a container with beer in it. It attracts slugs and they fall in, get p*ssed,  and don't get back out. They then have to be tipped out somewhere.
    I'm not sure anyone bothers what colour they are  :)

I don't use them, for reasons I won't go into. I just snip or squish slugs when I find them.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• B3B3 Posts: 15,964
    I suppose you could design a beer trap with some sort of strainer with a handle inserted so that you could easily remove the slugs without wasting the beer 
    I'm a scissors snipper too. Maybe a guillotine😉
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • Hello, I'm a fairly novice gardener (but probably just the type to buy a slug trap as I wouldn't know how to make one and didn't know it was a thing until I saw this post). I think I would prefer something less visible, also something environmentally friendly, so not plastic and also something which didn't kill them as I'd feel sorry for them 😅😅
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 35,520
    No point in having a trap then if you aren't going to dispatch them They just come back  :)
    They die happy in the beer.