Forum home Problem solving

Help: Salix Integra (Flamingo Willow) Tree looks like it is dying

So, firstly I am extremely new to gardening and only started this year once I got a Bonsai kit and then ventured into what else we can grow and then then this spread to the garden.

Myself and the wife purchased the Salix Integra tree to be potted in our front garden area as the previous palm which was left from previous tenants was dead so wanted something new.

The garden is south facing at the front of our garden and we planted it around April time this year (2020). It was doing well throughout the summer but lately is starting to get brown crusty leaves which are falling off and also some of the branches are starting to look brittle. I have seen mixed messages online saying we should let it develop for the first year but I am worried if we do nothing to it, it will die before next Spring.

I am wondering if it is because it is getting later in the year and also whether we need to move it for winter also.

Any advice would be great and please see attached picture, can attach more if needed.

Thanks in advance.

• Salix are very thirsty trees, and we've had hot dry days for a while now. It desperately wants a drink! 

It's hard to tell from the photo but it looks like your salix is either in a pot, or in the blue ring thing which in turn sits on concrete, under the blue slate stuff? If that's correct, both of those will add to your watering challenge.

As a start, slowly pour a lot of water around the base of the tree (start with 20 litres or so). The ground may be so dry that the water runs off or doesn't sink in - if this happens, slowly pour a couple of litres then wait 30 mins, repeat 4 or 5 times. Alternatively get a soaker hose on it. Speed of watering is really important if the ground is bone dry. You'll need to do this every day while the weather is hot and dry, until your tree recovers.