Forum home Garden design

Which tree best for small gardens

Hi,  i'm a gardening novice and have a very small garden (6 x 8 meters).  I am in process if redesigning garden and thinking about plants to add.  I have houses on all three sides and would like to plant a tree to break up the view of the house behind us.  As the garden is very small I was originally looking at tuscan totem pole cypress trees. Then I looked at pleached trees and then saw people talking about silver birch.  I'm so confused now.  We are getting a new fence so wont see through to neighbours.  I do plan on planting bamboo in pots on new patio to screen new seating area but would love something for the birds.  Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 15,331
    Maybe a crab apple in the top right corner, or an upright flowering cherry such as Amanogawa.  TBH in that small a garden I would stick to something you can easily cut down and control like a buddleja. No good for birds but they do attract butterflies.
    You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • Songbird-1Songbird-1 Posts: 2,972
    Hoheria tree, nice and light airy form, doesn’t grow too tall, can prune to desired height, lovely white flowers in summer.
  • I looked at the slender cherry, thought they looked beautiful and dont appear to take up much room.  I do already have a buddleja in a small pot I could plant.  The hoheria looks lovely and good that I can prune if it gets too unruly.  I wish I had a bigger garden but trying to make a little sanctuary with what I've got.   Thank you for  the ideas. 
  • Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 29,063
    One thing to remember is trees = shade. Consider the impact on your garden and those of your neighbours. 
    Devon.
  • That's what I'm worried about. Wouldn't want to cause shade for neighbours garden. 
  • You've got to have a little tree!