Forum home Fruit & veg

How far away should a indoor growlamp be from Basil

Hello, im kind of new to growing basil or any kind of plants/veg/herb. i was using another forum to learn but its dead and inactive. so i was hoping i would be able to get proper answer here.

is 15-20 Cm close enough for basil to grow without becomming leggy using a 6400K growlamp or should it be more far away?

Because i noticed some color change on some of the leafs and it was at around 12Cm from the soil.

i dont want them to become leggy and i dont wanna burn the leafs so what is correct lenght from the soil to lamp.

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 22,270
    I'm not convinced your problem is the grow lights.  I suspect it's more a case of sowing too densely and you may need to consider pricking some out and potting on to thin the plants so they can grow well.

Everything I've ever seen about grow lights indicates you start seeds off with the lights about 2 to 4" away and gradually raise the height as the seedlings grow till you get your plants to a size where they can be grown on in natural light in the garden or a greenhouse, depending on your crop.    
    "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." - George Bernard Shaw
  • Obelixx said:
    I'm not convinced your problem is the grow lights.  I suspect it's more a case of sowing too densely and you may need to consider pricking some out and potting on to thin the plants so they can grow well.

Everything I've ever seen about grow lights indicates you start seeds off with the lights about 2 to 4" away and gradually raise the height as the seedlings grow till you get your plants to a size where they can be grown on in natural light in the garden or a greenhouse, depending on your crop.