Forum home Garden design

A new garden over an old lawn... where to begin?!

I have a relatively small garden which I recently made a little bigger by demolishing an old garage! Now it has been removed I am faced with the enormous task of designing and PLANNING my new garden. I have a rough idea what I want to do but I am very new to this and find the lawn/planting side of things a little daunting and overwhelming! I built some raised beds from the old roof timbers but just don't know where to start! So...
  • When is the best time to lay a new lawn?
  • Should raised veg beds be built on gravel or the bare earth before filling?
  • With regards to garden boarders, is it best to buy potted plants or grow from seed?
  • and when is the best time to plant everything out?
I am guessing most of it will be for Spring but wondered if there is anything I can do now apart from the jobs like paving & fences etc!

Any and all suggestions most welcome!!

Simon

• LoxleyLoxley Posts: 3,986
    I would just work with the existing lawn, and create a raised bed veg plot in the area you have just made with the removal of the garage. The hardcore will make a good base for paths and you can create your raised beds on top of it as well (provided they're reasonably deep).

It's good to buy potted plants for your borders to get you going, but you can be raising seed too. Actually a good way of filling them up is buy perennials you like as good size plants, and divide them in autumn/spring - much quicker than seed.
  • That's great advice - thank you for that. It's hard to tell from that picture but the lawn is a state! And since wheeling barrows of rubble across it with the added heatwave it's even worse! Most of it was moss before so it's pretty bare now. I would love to keep it but I think I will need to do something with it. Plus.... I was planning on putting turf over some of that hardcore area too.... 

Is it best to get winter out of the way if I do anything at all?