Forum home Garden design

Ideas?

gardenman91gardenman91 BrightonPosts: 429
Hello everyone

So I’ve been gardening for about 4 years (though I still feel like a beginner!) I was wondering what people think of the back garden, this was taken earlier this year. Is there any way to improve? It’s on chalky soil though has been improved somewhat.

Many thanks

• AnniDAnniD Posts: 8,229
    Do you mean in terms of changing the layout? 
  • gardenman91gardenman91 BrightonPosts: 429
    Sorry, I should have a bit more specific. So the part I don’t like is the main border between the grass and the shed. It just doesn’t seem colourful and full? It’s great when the 3 astilbes are flowering but sadly astilbes don’t seem to last long. Not sure if I’m being too hard on myself here 😂 
  • I would paint the timber a darker shade, Urban Slate or black, it's all a bit orange and that's what strikes the eye IMO. A darker shade will make the planting stand out. 

Hi Sam. The shed isn’t really an option as such just thinking of planting ideas. I’ve only been gardening for 4 odd years and only just finding out that most of the plants should be somewhere else 😂 it’s too easy to just say “oh I like that plant I’ll take it!” But ideally that’s not often the best decision. This is a different view of the border. 
  • KeenOnGreenKeenOnGreen Posts: 1,469
    You have some nice plants, and lots of colour, so a nice border.  For my personal tastes, I would want to add some height, some grasses to give movement, and think about how to extend the flowering season for longer colour.

Some of the taller grasses (Calamagrostis Karl Foerster, or one of the Miscanthus such as M. Malepartus) would give you some height and movement, and even look good in Winter.  Some of the taller perennials, such as Rudbeckia Herbstonne, Crocosmia Lucifer, etc would give you later season colour too.