Forum home Fruit & veg

Blown cauliflowers.

HxHx Posts: 2
Hi everyone, this is my first attempt at a post, hope I've done it right..lol. I am fairly new to veg gardening and have tried to grow cauliflowers, most of them have blown, just wondering if anyone has any tips on how to prevent this 😀 

• Blue OnionBlue Onion Posts: 2,271
    Welcome.  Cauliflower are challenging for experienced gardeners, so don't be disheartened!  

I've never grown them myself, for that exact reason!  Someone will come give you some excellent advice.  
    Utah, USA.
  • nick615nick615 Posts: 326
    Until someone else from the Clever Brigade comes up with an explanation, unlike most other brassicas, cauliflowers (and broccoli) prefer a slightly more acidic soil I'm told 'to help form the curds' as my informant put it.  That may be the reason.
  • BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 9,540
    edited 31 July
    My method: