Forum home Problem solving

Rootgrow or bone meal and mulch

Hi there I’m going to be planting a hydrangea paniculata sundae fraise and a beef eater lupin what would be better to use root grow or bone meal I have both also goibg to be mulching the border with Westland chip and bark I’ve never done this before I’m i right in thinking. I do not put the mulch around the roots of the plants and leave a circle around them. Many thanks for any help 

• Lizzie27Lizzie27 SomersetPosts: 9,648
    Those two don't need Rootgrow, so just a handful of bonemeal will do in the bottom of the hole and forked in. You are absolutely right in thinking you leave a circle around the main stems of the plant. You will need to water them in well and then put the mulch on.
  • LeeendeanLeeendean Posts: 122
    Ok thank you so much and when planting I take it the grown has to be same level as the soil. And I know now how to water as that was my first post water once weekly thank you for getting back to me 
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 47,190
    You'll need to water the hydrangea far more often than that. 
    Unless you live in a very wet area like I do.

It's vital that plants are thoroughly watered at this time of year until established, and particularly shrubs.
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

Ok thank you fairy girl how much should I be watering it once planted say a cup of water eod or ed 
    Your post isn't clear.
    Depending on the size of the plant, it'll need a watering canful to a bucketful every couple of days. A hydrangea in a 7 or 8 inch pot [which would be fairly standard] would certainly need at least a canful on a regular basis to settle it in and get roots down properly. In less moisture retentive soil, or in dry spells, they'll need more. Bigger specimens would also need more.