Forum home The potting shed

Growing root vegetables.

I am new to gardening, any advice would be very welcome.
My husband has just made me a 8x4 raised bed on the lawn it is 18 inches deep. He put a double layer of thick carboard at the bottom, I then added 120 litres of farm manure and on top of that 1.000 litres of a mixture of organic compost and dark rich topsoil. I still have around 6-7 inches to go before the bed is full so I asked a colleague if I should now order mulch to top up the bed but, when he heard I wanted to plant winter vegetables like parsnip, carrots, swede and onions he told me root vegetables wouldn't be any good because of the manure and that it would have helped if the thick carboard had gone on top of the manure. I cannot undo what's been done, I really want to grow root vegetables, is there anything I can do to improve the situation so I can grow root vegetables either now or in the near future or will I never be able to grow them in this raised bed?

• HelixHelix 704m altitude...Posts: 630
    If the manure is at the bottom and you fill up with soil then unless you are growing extra long carrots it shouldn’t be that much of a problem.  Plants want to grow! 

But it is getting very late for this year, so you’d better get a move on...
  • SkylarksSkylarks East MidlandsPosts: 257
    I think you’ll be ok growing root veg after a year or two. Just grow something else for now and then after a year, do a test of root veg ie just plant a couple and see how they do. I know manure isn’t good for carrots (can’t remember why) but not sure about other root veg. 
  • WilderbeastWilderbeast East YorkshirePosts: 659