Forum home Fruit & veg

Apple and Plum tree help

hi I bought an apple and plum tree last year and I am new to growing fruit trees, I have a problem with both.
The Apple tree has never blossomed or produced fruit both years. I addition to this the leaves get brown spots on them which spread. The spots are not black. It is a Cox- Orange -Pippin.

The plum tree had fruit last year but it split as it grew. This year it has not blossomed or produced fruit. It also has lots of aphids on it. The plum tree has grown quite tall.
please could anyone suggest what I can use for the brown spots on the Apple tree and say why I have no fruit on both this year? I would like to know what is best to get rid of aphids too. Many thanks in advance

• BobTheGardenerBobTheGardener Leicestershire, UKPosts: 11,336
    Can you upload some photos?  It's difficult to diagnose without them.
    A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • traceyjentraceyjen Posts: 15
    Brown spots on apple leaves that spread.
    This is what the leaves end up like
    Plum tree with aphids on leaves. It’s a plum CZAR. St Julian stock. 
  • purplerallimpurplerallim LincolnshirePosts: 4,231
    I can only say about the plum tree. Unfortunately aphids are a pest to fruit trees, but they get so big its nearly impossible to do something about it.
    I have a Victoria plum on a dwarf root stock but it would still get away from me if it wasn't cut back. Now is the time to cut it into the shape you want ( on a dry day) especially as there is no fruit ( mine is 5yo and didn't really fruit until last year) yours probably was caught by the frost when in flower as it happened at just the wrong time this year. So cut back to the height you want,  ensure the centre is open, as you need light and air to get into the tree, and that will help with the aphids too as they will be on the ends in the new growth you cut off.
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 20,113
    edited July 2020