Forum home Plants

RHS LEVEL 2 HELP

margaret005margaret005 Posts: 110
Evening everyone :smile:

So I am currently studying for the RHS level 2 qualification and I’m currently looking for (if there is one) a website or websites that would be helpful. For now I’m looking at the plant life cycle, angiosperms and gymnosperms etc. 

If anyone has any hints and tips to help me study that would also be appreciated! It seems to go in then go back out straight away so tent to keep going backwards in pages haha.

Many thanks :)

• LG_LG_ gardens in SE LondonPosts: 2,640
    Try these for starters:

'If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.'
    - Cicero
  • margaret005margaret005 Posts: 110
    Thanks for the video LG. Do you know of any particular websites that would be helpful? I’m trying to look in to the life cycle too and what causes senescence? :)
  • GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 2,175
    Tips for studying,

Always write notes. The process of writing down information helps to make it 'stick' far more than just reading. Make sure you read the notes so the information goes from short-term to long-term memory. You can make notes while reading, watching a video, whatever, just get in the habit of writing new information down and reviewing it.

Make a summary page. When you have a topic in your grasp, see if you can condense all the main principles onto a single side of A4 paper, make it graphical if you want with key information and phrases, use colour, it works best as key phrases and a graphical flow of the information. Look at it often and copy it out until you can do it from memory. I've saved myself in exams before by doing this, it is like having all the keys to a topic in memory, if I panic, I just write out the A4 page from memory and all the key information is in front of me. The technique is often referred to as 'chaining' and when tied to visuals like little sketches, it is really powerful for recalling information.