Forum home Problem solving

Tulips cutted 6w after blooming - but were still green 😬

ninac-zninac-z GlasgowPosts: 5
I’m new to gardening. My first tulips were amazing. All 300 of them. I was told deadhead and then to wait 6w after blooming to cut them to ground level. That’s what I did - stems and all. Only the leaves were still green and the stems kept growing back. I suspect that can’t be good. I pulled some stems a few weeks after to find them rotten. 😬 I want my beauties back next spring. They’re quality bulbs. What should I do? Lift them?! Still have a lot going on on top of them... and store 300 plus bulbs?! Please, help?! Thanks! Cheers from Scotland.

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 31,008
    It's only a guideline re cutting back. It's best to leave them to die back completely by themselves.
    Depending on what types they are,you're unlikely to get them all coming back anyway.
    It's very difficult to replicate their ideal conditions, especially up here.
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• BenCottoBenCotto RutlandPosts: 1,314
    edited 30 June
    We all learn from experience, @ninacrintzs. Next year you will know three things:

1. Only some tulips grow back just as strongly the next year. These are species tulips and ones sometimes listed in bulb catalogues as perennials. The odds of your tulips being in this group are below 50:50. More likely in year 2 the display will be less good and in year 3 very sparse.

2. You should cut off the leaves only when they are brown and crisp. You have been told that this can happen after 6 weeks but it can also take up to 10.