Forum home Fruit & veg

Tomato blossom end rot

lemzlemz Posts: 15
Hi everyone,

I'm new to gardening and I'm having some issues with blossom end rot on my tomatoes (grown in a pot).  I feel the top inch or two of the soil every morning to check if it's dry, if so, I give it some water.  Unfortunately my tomatoes all have BER and I don't know what I'm doing ... I'm guessing I might be under/over watering.  Am I supposed to water every day or every few days depending on dampness of soil?

• pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 16,830
    Anybody?
    Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 5,669
    The cause is a lack of water reaching the actual tomatoes so they need more water.
    But, don't start giving lots more, as that'll cause other problems, just give them a little more.
    I wish I could say give each plant x litre a days, but that's not how it works. It really comes down to experience, trial and error and weather conditions.
    Once you get the watering sorted your toms will be fine.

An RHS article here may help
    https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?pid=395

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • HotwaxHotwax Posts: 51
    I have always found it tricky to get the watering of tomatoes in pots right. I too have often had blossom end rot in the ones grown in pots but never (yet!) had it on the plants growing in the greenhouse borders. They seem to need a constant supply of water, rather than lots in bursts, then none, though this goes against most advice. I am trying putting a container under one pot and keeping it topped up. This is just an experiment. I’ve got lots of other plants so I won’t mind if it doesn’t work! In the borders I planted very deep and they need far lass watering.
  • lemzlemz Posts: 15