Forum home Problem solving

Potato stems broken and flowers being eaten - When to harvest?

Hello! Newbie here!  :)

Looking for some advice as this is my first year growing some vegetables (potatoes and carrots), and I am growing them in grow bags (P) and a trough (C).

The potatoes (second early) have been growing very well, the tops are inline with my hip (I'm 5'5") but we had high winds the other week and some of the stems have snapped near the base. Also this evening I noticed that something has ate the flower buds (note: the flowers haven't bloomed yet).

Going by the recommended 13weeks for harvest, I should be due to to harvest them next week but now I'm concerned that the damage caused by the broken stems and the lack of flowering will have an affect on when I should harvest them?

Can anyone advise?

Thanks!
Emma 

• purplerallimpurplerallim LincolnshirePosts: 2,830
    My earlies have been broken by winds ( in potato bag) but as they are a week away from harvest am tipping them out tomorrow. ( checked today and the one I found is a good size) If they are broken then they will not grow anymore I should think, so emptying them out and using them as new potatoes seems a good idea.
    Btw most growers take the flowers off as they take away the energy of the plant from producing tubers. 
  • My earlies have been broken by winds ( in potato bag) but as they are a week away from harvest am tipping them out tomorrow. ( checked today and the one I found is a good size) If they are broken then they will not grow anymore I should think, so emptying them out and using them as new potatoes seems a good idea.
    Btw most growers take the flowers off as they take away the energy of the plant from producing tubers. 
    Thank you for replying and restoring my faith in them!

I will check one of the bags (have 3) tomorrow and hopefully will be able to tip them out too. Thanks for letting me know about the flowers also.

:)