Forum home Garden design

Beginner here! Can I get some help with the basics?

alexemmersonukalexemmersonuk Posts: 61
edited June 2020 in Garden design
Hey everyone! 
First of all can I just say a massive THANK YOU to everyone who's been giving me tips lately! I am a real beginner and your input has been invaluable :) 

Here's my predicament. 

We've moved into our house last year, and didn't do much with the garden last summer (we're musicians and play at weddings and various corporate events, so our week-ends were always away from home). For obvious reason, this year we've had week-ends for the first time in our lives, and we got into gardening. 

The house has a lovely good size backgarden, and a MASSIVE garden at the front. It's bigger than our local park! I have plenty of room to do whatever I like, but it's overwhelming. 

At the moment, I am happy with what I have done in the back (just looked after the lawn and did some lovely planters all around), but the front bit is looking very boring. 

What I would love is to have lots of colour come up next spring, but the garden is fully lawned, and we're probably only going to be in the house for a couple of years at the most, and the house is rented, so I dont want to do anything major that's going to take a lot of work / time / money. I just want to have some colour, but I don't know what to do or where to start. 

I don't know about soil or anything like that, so I am looking for something not fussy. 

For your info, I highly dislike anything red / yellow / orange!!! 
I am all about the bring magenta pinks, purples and blues. 
I'll post a picture of the garden - would love to know what you would do with it, bearing in mind I am a beginner and only really have time to garden at the weekends....

Thank you! 

PS: I LOVE LOVE LOVE muscari Grape Hyacint. I would be quite happy just covering the garden in those, but I believe they are rather short lived?