Forum home Problem solving

Careers in gardening

I wondered if anyone could point me in the right direction.
I'm a mother of 3 who would love a career change. During Lockdown I have transformed my overgrown garden and grew an absolute love for gardening. It really helps my mental health to be outdoors so my thoughts have switched to the idea of jobs in the outdoors. I'm a novice and know nothing about what jobs there are out there and certainly not enough to want to retrain at this point. Are there jobs out there that don't require some horticultural qualification, where I can dip my toe in the water so to speak. Any advice would be greatly received. (Above pic is part of my garden transformation.)

• AnniDAnniD South West UKPosts: 10,398
    edited June 2020
    In normal times, most gardens such as National Trust ones use volunteers. There maybe a local gardening charity near you as well.
    Whereabouts are you ? (Just a general location will do)  :)
  • fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 16,158
    There are probably a lot of people in your area that could do with a bit of help in the garden. It is usually mowing lawns, a bit of hedge trimming etc. If you have a strong back, some digging in bare areas.  However, other than that, I would not let anyone loose on my garden without knowing that they really know what they are doing.  I have seen far too many shrubs and trees wrongly pruned to let anyone at them that cannot identify them and prove they know how and when to prune them.  A lot of National Trust gardens have volunteers and you can learn from someone more experienced as you go on.
    You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • I'm Stoke On Trent