Forum home Plants

Sweet Peas Not Flowering

DrewMcGDrewMcG Renfrewshire, ScotlandPosts: 21
Hey folks, 

Disclaimer: I am a newbie to gardening. 

I sowed sweet pea seeds in early April and planted them out once the chance of frost passed last month.

I made a bamboo teepee in a pot and planted two seedlings to each stick. They've grown really well and I've them to give support.

The sweet peas are about one metre tall and show signs of more growth to come - but they aren't flowering yet. 

When should I expect them to be flowering and, if that time is now, how do I help them flower? I bought sweet peas because a friend told me they were great for beginners!

Any tips welcome! 

Best, 

Drew

• LiriodendronLiriodendron Scariff, County Clare, IrelandPosts: 7,426
    I think you need to wait a bit longer... if you sow the seeds in spring they don't start flowering until July or even August, but will then carry on into the autumn, providing you pick the flowers to have in the house.  If you let them produce seed pods they'll stop flowering.  While you're waiting for the flowers, don't forget to water the plants.  Are they in a pot or the ground?  If in a pot they'll tend to dry out more, and also will need feeding.  Liquid tomato feed would be ideal, as it encourages flowers.   :)
    "The one who plants trees, knowing that he will never sit in their shade, has at least started to understand the meaning of life."  Rabindranath Tagore
  • DrewMcGDrewMcG Renfrewshire, ScotlandPosts: 21
    Thanks @Liriodendron! They are in pots and I've made sure they are watered. I'll pick up some tomato feed for them when I'm next out. 
  • strelitzia32strelitzia32 Posts: 767
    Did you pinch out the growing tips? You should do that, it will give you branched growth and more flowers. Incidentally my sweet peas have been flowering for a few weeks now, can you see any signs of flower pods?
  • celcius_kkwcelcius_kkw Posts: 717
    I’m in a similar situation as you @DrewMcG