Forum home The potting shed

My First Veg Plot - 'A Reluctant Gardener'

My name is Iain Philpott and I’m a photographer/filmmaker. I have never previously warmed to gardening, my leisure time spent sailing and canoeing since I was a small child. My parents were keen outdoors people but never gardeners. Under lockdown I needed to find an interest to occupy my weekends. At the beginning of lockdown the weather was really beautiful and as family (kids home from uni) we spent quite a bit of time collecting our thoughts about these strange times in the garden. And that got me thinking. I love food, I love cooking so why not try growing some. I also had recollections of stories my father told me about the food rationing and queues during WW2 and the Dig For Victory campaign. I did some research and felt the Dig for Victory campaign was as relevant today as it was back then.

My project of ‘A Reluctant Gardener’ was born.

It is very much a 'visual diary' of stills & video documenting my journey. It has given great joy in these difficult times and am just sharing here. Please do take a look here! https://www.iainphilpott.co.uk/Blog/Corona-Lockdown-A-Reluctant-Gardener-Project

• nick615nick615 Posts: 537
    My steam driven browser wasn't man enough for your link but not to worry.  One day you'll be an EX-film maker etc., at which point you'll find lots of time for gardening.  For your next birthday or Christmas present, ask the family for a general gardening book such as Readers Digest's 'Food From Your Garden' (no longer in print but available on Amazon etc.).  It'll provide all you need to know to get started, even to the extent of preserving what you've grown, and will stand you in good stead through to your dotage.
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 17,806
    You’re not the only person with camera skills who has had to find other subject matter to concentrate on. 😊