Forum home Garden design

Garden Makeovers: Before and After

DrewMcGDrewMcG Renfrewshire, ScotlandPosts: 21
Hey folks, 

When we bought our house last year, we inherited a garden that can only be described as unloved. 

Since then, I've...

- Tidied the place up and powerwashed
- Installed a new patio at the rear
- Built a shed, painted the fence, patio and paving
- Treated and raked out the moss from the grass
- Created a new bed, planting Cypressus Goldcrest and summer perennials 
- Installed planters and introduced shrubs
- Bought some solar lights to brighten the garden up at night 
- And, finally, built a swing seat.

I'd be interested to see your makeovers and what you've done in your gardens. I'm rather new to this and keen to get ideas from others with more experience!

Best, 

Drew

• DrewMcGDrewMcG Renfrewshire, ScotlandPosts: 21
    What a difference, @Pauline 7! The well-cared-for grass, bushes and flowers beat the drab concrete hands down. 

• Pauline 7Pauline 7 West Yorkshire Posts: 1,921
    It isn't actually concrete, just compacted earth. Looks like concrete doesn't it. Hard work, but well worth it.
    I will post the back garden when I get on the computer rather than this tablet,  probably at the weekend.
  • tuikowhai34tuikowhai34 Béziers, Herault, FrancePosts: 779
    Hello all - back in the land of gardening again!  Here is a few pictures of one part of my garden before and after.

Before.Coming along
    A month later from another angle

A good hoeing is worth two waterings.

It's become a sort of cottage garden as I have dumped left over vegetable plants like potatoes, onions, celery, parsley and peppers in there along with the flowers.  Such fun!!