Forum home Tools and techniques

Dalek compost bin

PlantyPruPlantyPru NottinghamshirePosts: 65
My Mum has got an old compost bin I can have and now I've found a space for it I'm raring to go but I have no idea what I'm doing  :lol: Any hints, tips, must do's, must don'ts please for a complete novice?

• Mary370Mary370 Limerick, Ireland Posts: 1,846
    Put in all raw veg, fruit peelings, shredded paper, egg shells.  No cooked foods, no meat, dairy, oils. Also deadheaded flowers.......amazing how fast they fill up.  Try to keep a fairly even balance of peelings and paper/ card.......some people turn theirs,  I never do......
  • Blue OnionBlue Onion Posts: 2,495
    I line my kitchen compost container with several layers of newspaper, which makes a good mix of greens and browns in every dump.  I also tear up the paper egg cartons and add those each week.  
    Utah, USA.
  • PlantyPruPlantyPru NottinghamshirePosts: 65
    Thank you both, currently having a google of it all 
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 35,361
    Just use the search facility at the top of the page here. There are several good threads about composting.  :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 2,283
    Had best use out of my dalek as a worm composter. As above uncooked veg scraps, egg cartoons, flower dead heads, also put used compost from pots in there. Egg shells I grind up into a dust, as apparently it tricks worms into thinking they are dying, so they reproduce more. (They don't actually die). I just avoid citrus such as lemons or oranges as worms avoid them totally. Produces a lovely even sticky compost that I don't have to turn, because the worms do it all for me. Keep it close to kitchen door, so easy to get to in the winter. There are particular types of worms that work best that can be purchased online.
  • PurpleRosePurpleRose North YorkshirePosts: 347
    Hi