Forum home Fruit & veg

Are my raspberrys dead?

Have no idea what to think here.. as I've no experience in growing raspberrys. But as u can see from the photos I think there dead! And why is the leaf at the bottom yellow and weak looking? Would appreciate some help please?

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 8,490
    Not sure why you think they're dead..
    The fruits look just like mine, they'll be ripe in a few days (if it warms up)
    Lots of plants get the odd yellow leaf - leaves don't last forever and the plant discards them when they're no longer performing so they turn yellow and drop off.
    If you have a pic of the whole plant maybe we can see if there's a problem, but from the pic above I don't think you have much to worry about
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • nbell744nbell744 Posts: 14

this was yesterday. Looks even worse now.
  • Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 8,490
    Do you know the variety, or do you know if they're summer or autumn raspberries?
    Summer raspbs. produce fruit on canes that grew last year and autumn raspbs. produce fruit on canes that grow this year.
    They seem to be planted in a raised bed, what soil/compost is in the bed?

It may be they are just settling-in and growing lots of roots.
    I had to wait 2 years before I got any fruit from my summer canes, but now I get lots.
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • They look ok to me, the fruit are just in the early stages and will colour up soon. They look like young plants but you can see the new shoot coming out of the soil which will be where next years crop will fruit from. This is likely a summer fruiting raspberry. The discoloured leaves are a bit like mine. I wouldn’t worry. Next year the crop will be bigger and better.
  • nbell744nbell744 Posts: 14