Forum home Tools and techniques

Compost bin help for a complete beginner

• stephentamestephentame Southwest EnglandPosts: 97
    It's been some years since I stopped turning compost in the dalek.

Turning it will speed up the process, but it's only worth doing it if (a) you want to do it, or (b) if you are in a compost race with a friend with a large and delicious chocolate prize for the winner.

I get two, maybe three loads out of it a year. I have two daleks, and when I empty one, I just throw anything unfinished in the second one. If I only had one dalek I'd just set aside anything unfinished when I emptied it, and throw it in to start the next batch.
  • stephentamestephentame Southwest EnglandPosts: 97
    Treeface said:
    I started composting this year when the council stopped the garden waste collection because of the virus. I got a 300L plastic one for £24.99 and also bought a shredder for some tree branches. I struggle to turn the waste in the heap from such a bin. I want compost by Autumn and apparently turning speeds it up. Think I've wasted my money.

I think you'll be fine - you'll certainly have some useful compost by the autumn. Just set aside anything unfinished when you empty it, and use that to start the next batch.
  • MontysGalMontysGal South WalesPosts: 56
    I’m wondering if I’m being a bit over the top by taking the bags off my teabags and just putting the tea leaves in....am I making pointless work for myself?! Can I chuck them in as they are?! 
  • PyraPyra Central Scotland Posts: 139
    MontysGal said:
    I’m wondering if I’m being a bit over the top by taking the bags off my teabags and just putting the tea leaves in....am I making pointless work for myself?! Can I chuck them in as they are?! 

Depends what the bag is made from, I'd imagine. Paper can be broken down. Plastic can't. 
  • josusa47josusa47 Posts: 3,532