Forum home Tools and techniques

Compost bin help for a complete beginner

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 14,904
    I have acquired a number of plastic bins, generally free, as the council gave them away some years ago, and then people use them for one season or two and then want rid of it.  I find the ones with holes in , the water evaporates out and the stuff on the side gets too dry.  I always have mine on a soil base, usually in a very shady part of the garden, currently beneath the top oak. It is the bacteria that generate the heat to cook the compost, not  from the sun.  If you know anyone with a heap with a lot of brandlings in, ask them for some as a starter.I have willingly supplied  some friends and neighbours with a cupful. Makes a change to a cup of sugar.  Having worms in your heap will produce a better compost.  I pile everything in, cut small is better, and then it heats up. I then turn it or add more grass if it looks dry, and it heats up again. Then the worms move in.  Worms seem to move in and out of whichever bin they like, presumably because of the right  conditions.  If you have a lot of shrub clippings or hedge clippings, an electric shredder is invaluable. Everything rots eventually, but the smaller the pieces are , the faster the compost is made.  Again, shredders seem to be something a person buys when they chop a large shrub down, and then want rid after a season or two. Look on ebay or similar sites for one local. When my trusty alko 1100 finally died, I got an alko 1300 practically unused for £30 locally.  Impact shredders cut it finer than the quiet big screw type, that chunk it rather than shred it. 
    If your compost is too dry, water it with  diluted urine, the nitrogen in the urea acts as a good activator for bacteria.
    You don't stop doing new things because you get old, you get old because you stop doing new things. <3
  • GemmaJFGemmaJF Posts: 2,286
    edited June 2020
    pyra88 said: