Forum home Plants

When to prune my hydrangea

zoeldayzoelday Posts: 11
Hi everyone, i have 2 hophead hydrangeas, my father in law cut them back v hard this spring and this summer they have no flower heads at all so I'm guessing they flower on old wood. So if that's the case should i prune them this summer?- i looked online and it said after flowering- but if they don't flower im not really sure when to do it and how far back i should go? i just want to prune them a bit so they don't get too big next year!
Many thanks i just love having people to ask as im only quite new to all this!
Zoe

• FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 48,944
    edited June 2020
    No - just leave them now  :)
    They'll only grow so much this year, and then next year, you should get flowers, and you can follow the correct process.
    If they grow enormous within the next month or so, you can certainly a little bit off though.   :)
    It's a place where beautiful isn't enough of a word....

• amancalledgeorgeamancalledgeorge South LondonPosts: 2,307
    Sounds to me that they may be in the wrong location. Most mophead hydrangeas want to become quite large plants. If the incorrect pruning was because it was taking too much space it's worth thinking if it's the right plant for the spot. But agree with @Fairygirl leave it well alone this season, it has suffered enough. 
    To Plant a Garden is to Believe in Tomorrow
  • zoeldayzoelday Posts: 11
    @Fairygirl so it’s next year already and there are lots of flower heads on it yay!! So this year do I prune it back after flowering? And if so how far? 

• ObelixxObelixx Vendée, Western FrancePosts: 28,549
    Generally speaking, flowerheads are left on mophead hydrangeas till the next spring because the old heads as they fade are usually attractive as they dry and then, over winter, they protect the new flower buds form frosts.