Forum home Fruit & veg

Which tomato seeds are best quality please?

Hi there - beginner here and first-time veg grower!

I'd like to try and grow some tomatoes from seed this summer - if I am not too late. Ideally 

Lycopersicon esculentum ‘Gardener’s Delight’.

I jumped on Amazon to order some seeds, but actually, when I saw lots of 1-star reviews, it occurred to me that, probably, like everything else, not all tomato seeds are created equal. 

Where can I source seeds which are of good quality? (Yes, I did try this website, but unless I am missing something really obvious, it appears there's plenty fo advice on how to grow them, but no way to actually buy seeds...? 

Any help appreciated. Thank you! :-) 

• Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 7,509
    edited May 2020
    I fear you may be a bit too late to start them from seed at this time of year to be honest.
    You can probably buy young plants though. Garden centres and some supermarkets sell them.
    No seeds or plants are sold on this site, but members do often swap seeds and plants.

Gardener's Delight is a good tomato. It's been around for many, many years with good reason and is still very popular, and easy to grow in a greenhouse or outdoors.
    If the Amazon site gave it poor ratings I can only assume it's reflecting the quality of the seed and not the tomatoes.
    I've grown them many times.

I've had good seed this year from Simpson's Seeds and Premier Seeds Direct
    Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
  • LynLyn DevonPosts: 18,447
    I buy all my seeds from eBay, never pay more than 99p per pack and most post free.
    I don’t think you can go by Amazon reviews, the people that write those may have no idea how to sow them or look after them. There are several sites on Amazon that are the same sellers as eBay, they sell on both.
    Just don’t buy any that come from China.
    A lot of it is up to the person who buys them.