Forum home The potting shed

Beginner looking for garden planning tips!

Hi all. 
I am an absolute gardening beginner. I am looking to create a garden that has lots of colour. 
I have a large garden with a very large area for flower bedding. 
I would like to create some rows of flowers along the sides / edges of the garden. 
I am trying to plan the flowers so that I have something flowering / colourful most months. 
I am a lover of pinks, purples and blues and would like to avoid yellow, reds and oranges. 
Is anyone aware of an online too that can list which flowers bloom when in the UK? 
I'd love to know what will flower in May, what will flower in June, July and so on. 
Can anyone help? 
THANK YOU!

• GreenbirdGreenbird Posts: 193
    What you can grow will depend on your soil type/drainage and amount of sun/shade. Google different soil types then go into your garden and check your own, that'll give you a rough idea of what will grow easily. Or look at what grows well in neighbors gardens. 

Bulbs are usually easy enough, and you can probably start purchasing and planting them come October.  

Here's flowering periods for flowers.

As a beginner, I'd probably stick to bulbs, flowering shrubs and perennials. Personally, I found annuals hard work for what you get out of them whilst your learning the ropes. 

The type of flowerbed you have in your mind will likely cost a considerable amount of money if your buying young plants from garden centers etc. growing from seed and cuttings is a longer more cost effective method but also comes with a learning curve and, in my opinion, a degree of trial and error.

If you are truly an absolute beginner, a large garden with a lot of borders to fill is a big task. Perhaps start with one flower bed this summer. That'll give you time to get a green thumb and plan your garden going forward (I can guarantee that your tastes will change especially in regards to having flowers limited to the edges)