Forum home The potting shed

Small garden ideas wanted

Hi all 

I'm looking to redesign the garden in my terraced house.

Currently it is covered in (cheap) astroturf from the previous owners which I cannot stand. 

I would like some space for seating when the weather is nice as it's a south facing garden, and be able to grow a few plants or some herbs. Currently I have a load of herbs in pots along the fence on the left. 

The raised bed at the back right I will keeping but will probably change the plants and gravel that are currently in there. 

As I'm so limited on space, I don't have anywhere for a lawnmower so I'm hesitant to put grass down. I was thinking along the lines of maybe paving, or gravel, depending on what is cheapest and easiest to maintain. 

This is my first time and I'm struggling for ideas

Thanks in advance

• rootsmanrootsman Posts: 7
    I now realise this is not posted in the garden design section like I thought....
  • B3B3 Posts: 14,965
    Nobody takes much notice of the sections. Most of us just look at recent discussions, so you're ok😊
    I think you're right not to bother with grass. You have to be careful with the surface you put down unless you want to design a massive cat litter tray.
    In London. Keen but lazy.
    I agree - initially I was set on gravel however there are a lot of cats round here and I understand they are rather partial to it 
  • AnniDAnniD Posts: 7,049
    I see you have quite a difference in height between the "lawn" and the lower level !
    I would start by taking up the astroturf and finding out what exactly is underneath it. You could maybe have a pergola for a bit of shade (speaking as someone with a South facing garden, lovely as they are, on a warm day it's nice to have some shade, and you could grow plants over it ).
    Are you thinking of raised beds for all your planting ?
  • Lizzie27Lizzie27 Bath, SomersetPosts: 5,973