Forum home Fruit & veg

Time to prick out tomato seedlings?

linzijayne74linzijayne74 Droitwich, WorcestershirePosts: 145
Hi.  Here are my tomato seedlings.  (I scooped the seeds out of a cherry tomato a few weeks ago and these are the results!).  Are they big enough to move into their own plugs now, please?  I've never grown tomatoes in this way before.  Many thanks.  :)

• herbaceousherbaceous E. BerksPosts: 1,521
    If it was me I would leave them a bit longer, but I am no expert!  If you planted into seed compost then I would add a layer of MPC up to the seed leaves. If they were planted in MPC then I would just leave them be for now.
    Haven't been anywhere for over two months but I'm here and I'm happy
  • linzijayne74linzijayne74 Droitwich, WorcestershirePosts: 145
    Hi @herbaceous; many thanks for your reply.  They're in MPC.  I shall indeed leave them to get a bit bigger.  I wasn't really expecting anything to happen with them; I just sowed them on a whim, so I'm just chuffed there's leaves and signs of life, to be honest!  Thanks again.  :)
  • herbaceousherbaceous E. BerksPosts: 1,521
    That's the joy of gardening! Every day a new surprise  :)  It's always worth a bit of compost for an experiment don't you think?  My brother (definitely not a gardener) is becoming boring on the subject of his mango - growing just gets everyone in the end.
    Haven't been anywhere for over two months but I'm here and I'm happy
    @herbaceous Yes, we're constantly learning in the garden, aren't we?!  You're so right, it's absolutely worth experimenting because you learn so much.  Even if my tomato pip experiment goes wrong, I'll have learned something along the way.  Ha ha, I'm sure your brother's mango will be the BEST mango ever...who knows what the supposed non-gardener will grow next?!!!!  Thanks so much for your help.  :)
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 30,028