Forum home Wildlife gardening

New pond advice please

Hi,
I've dug a new pond, lined it and have flat rocks holding the liner in place.  I have created a bog garden and have put in lots of the plants that gardeners world recormmends.  However,  I'd like to have plants that hang over into the pond as I have quite a lot of exposed liner.  I've put marginal plants in and they cover up some of the liner and hopefully will grow, but I would like wildlife to be able to climb down too (I also put a plank in for frogs and birds (hopefully!).  Any suggestions please?  Thanks.

• mccallsmjmccallsmj Posts: 2
    Hi Philippa, that's perfect, thank you so much.  Will see how it likes Orkney.
  • Brookline is very good and quite fast growing.
  • Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 31,616
    Lysimachia ( creeping jenny ) works well for that - the yellow leaved one is somewhat more attractive than the plain green.
    Trouble is, it doesn't know when to stop. I've been spraying it with Roundup for 8 years since we moved here and it still pops up when i turn my back for a moment
    Devon.
  • Pete.8Pete.8 Billericay, EssexPosts: 8,538
    edited May 2020
    Brooklime grows in and all around my pond as Cfl mentions see top right of pic in front of the grass

Creeping thyme 4" and spreads quickly (bottom left)
    Dwarf Greek oregano 6"- works really well and especially good when in flower, but dies back to a few twiggy bits over winter. Self seeds easily. (middle right) That edge will be covered soon at last :)
    Both are smothered in bees when in flower

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
    Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
    Hostafan1 said:
    Lysimachia ( creeping jenny ) works well for that - the yellow leaved one is somewhat more attractive than the plain green.
    Trouble is, it doesn't know when to stop. I've been spraying it with Roundup for 8 years since we moved here and it still pops up when i turn my back for a moment