Forum home The potting shed

Is a Potting Shed Worthwhile ?

May seem like a crazy question but is a potting shed really worth having ?  I am an amateur gardener, have done veg for a few years but more like a quick flurry of seeds in may and that's it but trying to learn and expand.

Would a potting shed help me all year round, do you find it worth it, do you grow all your seeds in there ?  any recommendations for a good one on a tight budget ?

Thanks All, 

• B3B3 Posts: 13,125
    I haven't got one, but I think people use them mostly for sowing seeds , pricking out and keeping tools and pots. The germinated seeds would need somewhere with more light to grow
    In London. Keen but lazy.
  • pansyfacepansyface PEAK DISTRICT DerbyshirePosts: 16,818
    edited 9 May
    I inherited a potting shed with this house. My first. A complete waste of time, in my opinion. Just a place to put junk that won’t go anywhere else.

Better by far to get a greenhouse and, if you need to do potting, put up a little picnic table inside it.
    Apophthegm -  a big word for a small thought.
  • tuikowhai34tuikowhai34 Béziers, Herault, FrancePosts: 323
    A little greenhouse is a great investment and you could always have a "tool" corner in it.
    A good hoeing is worth two waterings.

• JoeXJoeX Posts: 1,233
    May seem like a crazy question but is a potting shed really worth having ?  I am an amateur gardener, have done veg for a few years but more like a quick flurry of seeds in may and that's it but trying to learn and expand.

Would a potting shed help me all year round, do you find it worth it, do you grow all your seeds in there ?  any recommendations for a good one on a tight budget ?

Thanks All, 
    It depends on the kind of gardening you are doing and want to do, somits a question of what do you want tondonwith the new building, and that will help determine whether you want a shed, summerhouse, potting shed or greenhouse.
  • Nanny BeachNanny Beach Posts: 3,429