Forum home Plants

Plant identification - complete novice gardener

Hi all, I recently moved into a house with some lovely shrubs which haven't been well loved. As I've not had a garden before I'm completely lost as to what's a weed and what isn't, and what I should keep or get rid of. I've added some pictures, any help or advice would be much appreciated!

• herbaceousherbaceous Posts: 2,318
    1)  Isn't that honeysuckle?
    2) Choisya
    3) Centranthus rubra

feel I should know 4 but still enlarging my plant skills!

"The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."  Sir Terry Pratchett
  • Liz.S.Liz.S. Posts: 55
    1. Honeysuckle
    2. Choysia
    3. Valerian
    4. Pieris?
    5. Hebe?
    6. Honeysuckle
    "Life returns. Life prevails. Resistance is futile" Rusty the dalek
  • herbaceousherbaceous Posts: 2,318
    OK I think 4 is schefflera?  Last one is not really clear.
    "The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."  Sir Terry Pratchett
  • DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 87,860
    1.  Honeysuckle - Lonicera

2. choisya ternata 

3. Centranthus ruber ... I like it but some folk don’t. 

4 ?

5 ?

6. Honeysuckle again. 

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

edited May 2020
    No 6  The big leaved plant with the reddish stem in the middle of the honeysuckle is a new shoot of honeysuckle. It has big leaves cos it’s closer to the camera 😉 

Like this one in my garden

It’s a bit shady in that corner. 

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• Megan-smithMegan-smith Posts: 6
    edited May 2020
    Thanks for all the comments! So helpful...I did wonder if 6 was the same plant as 1 but it seems to be crawling everywhere and the leaves looked a bit different...hopefully this is a better photo: