Forum home Tools and techniques

Lockdown raised bed advice for a newbie, Help!

Hello,
I'm new to veggie growing and have been very keen to get started as this is the first summer in my own house, so I have invested in a tiered planter/raised bed to grow veggies. It requires a fair amount of compost/soil to fill it and due to lockdown restrictions/supply issues for gardening stores, I have struggled to get hold of enough topsoil to make the right ratio with the compost. I read online that ideally it should be 20% compost and the rest topsoil, with a layer of grit on the bottom. 
I've managed to get about a 50/50 ratio so have done this in layers: grit, compost, topsoil, compost. I am aware that when the growing season has ended, compost isn't usually re-used but in this instance how would I prep my raised bed for growing next year without taking it all out and starting again having had to use so much compost this year?

This might be a really silly question to the more experienced gardeners but it seems like a big deal to a newbie worrying about getting it all wrong so any advice is greatly appreciated!

• herbaceousherbaceous E. BerksPosts: 2,257
    Do you have access to good old garden soil @frankie.ogden ?  The growing season is by no means over depending on what you are expecting to plant. I am still sowing lettuces, peas, dwarf beans and beetroot to name just a few.

I have been 'getting it wrong' for years now!  There's nothing like a failure to spark off the next experiment and experience is worth as much as instruction so keep going  :)
    "The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it."  Sir Terry Pratchett
  • FairygirlFairygirl west central ScotlandPosts: 39,235
    The growing season has barely started here, so don't worry  :)